J.S.A. 19:23

The primary election for the general election shall be held for all political parties upon the Tuesday next after the first Monday in June between the hours of 6:00 A.M. and 8:00 P.M., Standard Time. N.J.S.A. 19:23-40

A candidate must be a registered voter and resident of the jurisdiction where seeking office for at least one year immediately prior to the date upon which the election for office is to be held (NJSA 40A:9-1.13).

Partisan Offices:  Direct or independent candidates for County and Municipal offices with partisan governments must obtain forms, information, and file petitions with the County Clerk through their Municipal Clerk.  The following local governments are partisan: Commercial, Deerfield, Downe, Fairfield, Greenwich, Hopewell, Lawrence, Maurice River, Shiloh Borough, Stow Creek, Upper Deerfield.

In partisan offices, successful candidates from the Primary Election advance to the General Election ballot in their party columns.  Independent candidates file Direct Nomination petitions by 4:00 p.m. on Primary Election day.

Non-Partisan Offices: Candidates for Non-Partisan Municipal Office must obtain forms and information from their Municipal Clerk. The following municipalities are non-partisan: Bridgeton, Millville, & Vineland

State Offices:  Candidates for State Office must obtain forms and file petitions with the New Jersey Division of Elections.

For further information contact:

Cumberland County Clerk’s Office
60 West Broad Street
County Courthouse
Bridgeton, NJ  08302
Celeste M. Riley, County Clerk